Hunger

Hunger

Hello World!  Welcome to the Hunger ‘zine.  It’s a project I started a long time ago that never really got off the ground.  This time, however, I’m playing for keeps.  Sometimes insightful, sometimes sporadic, I haven’t really found my voice yet.  But that doesn’t mean I’m not looking, nor does it mean that any of us should stop looking once we think we’ve found it.  Man is temporary and effervescent:  Metamorphic.  Just because it’s your voice now doesn’t mean that it’ll be your voice in a year, or five, or ten.

Hunger started out as the idea for a creative arts magazine.  I worked on several well-funded publications in Paris, France and this was supposed to be the continuation of all that.  But as we are all destined to find out at some time or another, good funding is hard to come by.  So here’s my attempt to do it free or at least cheap (a guy’s got to smoke, amirite?).  I aim to showcase local writers, poets, photographers, models, architects, and designers, and maybe a couple of my own works will find their way in to this post-travesty of a new blog.  It’s not right now, but I hope to make this my primary source of income within a year.  Good thing my rent is low, right?

A little bit about the aesthetic theory driving this publication.

I’m often drawn to opposites.  My two favorite styles are minimalism and old-world British Empire colonial trappings, which I see as sort of the Baroque period of the turn of the century.  Extravagance is followed almost immediately by downfall which then engenders an opportunity to start over with plain, simple lines and colors.  Genius is well-created simplicity in all things.  We begin by creating what’s simple because that’s all we know how to do.  We don’t yet possess the ability to complicate our work because we’re not at all familiar with the governing ideas and rules.  But then we learn how to paint or write within the parameters which allows us to really push the edge a little farther.  We can do this only because we know where the limits are and are familiar with them.  We don’t do it on accident.  There should be no (or at least very few) accidents in art.  I think all things should be created with intent.  Once we have understood just how complicated and complex we can do things, and once we are comfortable in this capacity, the natural progression I have witnessed is a return to simplicity.  A minimalist, post-post-modern simplicity that belies and to all but the qualified eye denies the craftsmanship involved.

So let’s see what we can’t do with that, eh?

This entry was published on February 1, 2012 at 17:03 and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

