Hunger

Featured Artist: Siena Oristaglio

Siena Oristaglio is an artist and writer out of Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts.  She frequently takes candy from strangers.

Siena wrote to me asking about whether I could put some of her art here, and I’m so glad that I can.  I think it’s a fantastic idea she’s got, putting sounds near domestic running water.   This is what she wrote me, and I think it describes her work better than I can.  “I ended up on the “sonnet” page and the preface about moving water is directly related to a project I’m working on now – compiling audio submissions of people doing things near running water (humming in showers, bathing infants, discussing iranian politics over dishes, etc.).”  So here are some tracks.  Her website can be found after the cascade.

etta james’ “at last” in a shower

Scrubbing and cleaning a bathroom toilet

listening to gregorian chanting while washing hands in a bathroom sink

washing hands with cold water and staring into mirror at sexual assault services center

And there are so many more!  These are some of her more recent works, but all of them are on her website.  The “fattig bonddräng” recording is awesome as well.

Featured Image by Yuri Bredbeck

This entry was published on February 8, 2012 at 09:20. It’s filed under Sound and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Featured Artist: Siena Oristaglio

  1. Needed to give you that very little remark simply to thank you once more because of these spectacular techniques you have provided in the following paragraphs. It’s so particularly wonderful submit, very informative. I’m wondering why the other s of this sector don’t understand this. You should proceed your writing. I am confident, you have a great readers’ base already!

  2. It is beautiful as well as nicely matched up. My spouse will be thrilled. Appreciate your help!

  3. Cara West on said:

    Siena, thank you for these.

Leave a Reply

