Hunger

An Introduction

Hello, my name is quiet death.
I’ll shine your shoes and grow with you
I’ll water your insignificance, raise
it to be full of nothingness and
pointless names and symbols

My name is quiet death and I grow
inside your bones
I befriend them and they come
to adore me and they come
to know no thing without me

Quiet death they call me,
they call for me with crushed larynxes
and bullet-heated lungs,
they long for me as they cry blood and
roll in the street, disgusted and embarrassed with
finality and pointlessness and weakness

***

Hello, my name is Loud Death.
I will haunt your in-between-dreams
you will kick out as you fall asleep, kick
out at me
and miss
do you miss me?

LOUD DEATH
YOU WILL HEAR ME COMING
BEARING DOWN ON YOU
UNSTOPPABLE, SCARY
I WILL LOOK YOU IN THE EYE AND KILL YOU
PROUD DEATH

***

Hello, my name is quiet death
you live with me every day
and forget that I am there
but I don’t mind: Just because
I am forgotten does not imply
my absence–I AM absence

I am quiet death, I am the heavy hot water
just behind your eyes when the hundredth car
brushes your zippers and dangles
the hot frustrated salt that threatens to take away
just how tough you are to look at me.

I am the swollen eyes and wakeful nights
and the inability to fall asleep
I am why you pass out instead
And my open, gaping, dry, rotten echoing mouth
is open and hungry
I am quiet death and cannot be stopped

Have we met?  I am quiet death.
Maybe you have seen me in your morning
reflection, mourning dew
I’m sure we’ll get to know one another
quite well quite soon
for I am quiet death
and I cannot be bought
or prayed away

This entry was published on February 6, 2013 at 23:20 and is filed under Poetry. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

