Hunger

Three Hard Fucking Sonnets to Write

Sonnet on Touching

Was I not born this way: untouchable?
When I was born was I not silent then?
When did I learn I was unlovable,
Surrounded by statues instead of men?
Overprotective using poison spikes,
Of what I fear to be a porcelain me–
A fear which grows in lonely frigid nights,
Afraid to touch as well as touchéd be.
Brushing shoulders with strangers, while not rough,
On trains or in a blessed, sweaty crowd,
Is unintentional, and not enough.
Touched by a friendly hand?
.                                                 I’ll scream out loud.
With statues for borders and spikes for skin
You’ll be kept outside, never allowed in.

Sonnet on Dialogue

If you reach for me, swear to god I’ll scream

Okay but please listen, I won’t touch you

It feels like it was only all a dream

But you and I both know that isn’t true.

He punched me, pushed me, I couldn’t fight back

I do not think he was trying to kill

What I remember is the strength I lacked

Why did you not just stay so very still?

He held me so my face was in the dirt

You could have cried out! You could have cried out!

I don’t remember tears, just that it hurt.

You shouldn’t have let him. And now you pout.

I didn’t tell a soul, it was my fault.

You’ve been so strong, you’re clearly worth your salt.

Sonnet on Rape

Don’t you dare think you know enough to say
You’re sorry for whatever made me cry
The repercussions echo through today.
Apology? Don’t even fucking try.
You had a chance to hold me in your arms
And help me to rebuild my trust in men
You could have yet protected me from harm
But you don’t talk about what happened then.
Your presence never provided safety
I never wondered if it even could
A lifetime thinking that I was crazy
Never questioning if I even should.
Fuck you who were supposed to protect me
Because of you I never will be free.

This entry was published on February 16, 2014 at 01:14. It’s filed under Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

